Carnatic and Western music notation

Thiru

Reaction score
Dear All,
I thought you will be interested ...
I love music and do not know much about the theory behind any music.
After retirement I started learning Keyboard and started looking for Tamil film music sheets and came to know about abc notation.
There are various s/w available to make western music sheets using abc notation. I use ABC edit with abc2svg (free.fr) mainly and there are many other s/w for abc notation.

Wondered if there is anything similar available for Carnatic music and searched the net and found https://carnatic2000.tripod.com/ maintained by Mr Subramanian who has developed various s/w for Carnatic music.

I am learning Carnatic Muic Theory via these pages Carnatic Music Web pages and Software - Text and Audio-Visuals (tripod.com)
(Melam, Raagam, Thaalanm - RASIKA - Carnatic Music Software (tripod.com)

I asked Jean-François Moine (Jef) the author of http://moinejf.free.fr/js/edit-1.xhtml , if it is possible to develop something to produce western style music sheet from Carnatic notation GAAYAKA File Format (tripod.com)

Jef has produced this music source edit with txtmus (free.fr) which can convert Gaayaka files to western notation and music sheets. It is in alpha testing stage. More work needs to be done to make it similar to http://moinejf.free.fr/js/edit-1.xhtml

Gaayaka files can be played on computer running Windows using GAAYAKA - Carnatic Music notation player (tripod.com)

There is an online version of the above player Carnatic Notation Player (tripod.com)
When you open the above link, you will see the saralavarisai S-R-G-M-P-D-N-S↑ and you can play it by clicking on the Play button above.
More examples are available under Examples (on the top right).

To get western style music sheet and play copy the text between ==== on the left pane of this editor http://moinejf.free.fr/js/edit-1.xhtml . To play right click on the music sheet and select play.
====
X: 1
T: Ayarpadi Maligaiyil